2013 Goals & Dreams

20130105-194459.jpg

Let’s be honest… December was a pretty awful month. One of the worst I’ve experienced in a while. Trials were plenty in the final month of 2012, but its a new year folks. And a new year means a new you… Or something like that.

I am just a little behind in setting my goals for 2013, which I blame entirely on the crappy month that was December 2012. But you know what they say- late is better than never.

The first few days of the new year echoed pretty heavily in the awfulness that was last month. Today I attended a memorial service for a very good friend. Life is hard, and sometimes shit happens. But one thing I (re)-learned today is that you can’t stop living. You can choose to be a victim, or you can choose to be a survivor. You may not be able to change your circumstance, but you can always change your attitude.

I am hoping that 2013 will be a good year for me. I started a small business venture with my best friend. I have a strong desire to better my skills at photography. I want to find contentment in a minimalistic life. I have set goals that i actually care about achieving. This year, I want to live intentionally and document my adventures and experiences on this blog. I know, I know. Blogging. Consistently. Definitely not my thing in the past, but I am giving it an honest effort this year. To further encourage my primary goal for the year, I have developed a few smaller goals that I think will very much steer me in the right direction:

2013 Goals & Dreams:
1. 52 Week Craft Challenge – create at least one thing for every week of the year.
2. Take more pictures. Landscape, people, lifestyle – I want to further my photography skills, and further them greatly.
3. Shop second-hand and thrifted whenever possible. I don’t want to spend money on retail this year. I pledge to make instead of buy. Waste not, want not.
4. Cook more at home and eat Vegan.
5. Blog about it. I have challenged myself as a part of my 52 week craft challenge to blog my adventures. One blog post a week (at least!).

If you haven’t set any goals for 2013, I would challenge you to do so. It doesn’t have to be a year-long challenge or goal. It doesn’t have to be elaborate or overwhelming, but it should be something. Challenge yourself to a better life in the new year. Choose to be a survivor; do not allow yourself to become a victim.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

